Links of the Week – May 1, 2015

* Is Rejection Worse Than Death?

* Anxiety Always Comes With Shallow Breathing

* A Boy And Her Dog: Dysphoria, Body Image, And Self-Consciousness At The Beach – (Post Of The Week!)

* Scribbles & Crumbs: 7 Ways To Remember Hurting Mothers This Mothers’ Day

* Avocado Egg Salad

* Bigfoot Cake! – (I MUST do this!)

* Raising My Rainbow: My Sons’ Reaction To Bruce Jenner

* 33 Of The Funniest Things To Ever Happen On Yik Yak – (“My GPA is so low it’s got boots with the fur.”)

* A Straight Guy Asked His Gay Friend To Prom And It’s The Cutest Thing Ever

* R2-D2 Is A Droid With A Lot Going On Inside

* Tech Ministry: The Importance Of Prayer – (THIS! “Matthew 21:13 says, “‘My Temple will be called a house of prayer’…” Did you catch that? It’s not to be a house of moving lights and slick videos.”)

* Beware Of Falling Monkeys – (I can’t seem to get past the embarrassment. ” It’s ok to fail!!  Ok to make a mistake.  Sometimes, the way we learn best is by doing something wrong the first time.  We learn how NOT to do something.  Unfortunately, many times we don’t even TRY new things for fear of not being good enough, or making a mistake or getting embarrassed.”)

* How To Stop Overthinking Everything: 9 Simple Habits

* #RedFlag: Mental Illness Meets Social Media – (Watch this Tuesday at 9pm on HLN. It’ll give you a little idea of what my life feels like when things are bottomed out.)

* 10 Situations Where Christian Bakers Should Refuse To Bake Wedding Cakes – (Yes, ma’am! 😀 )

* Frolicking Sumo Wrestlers

* 24 Hour Cable News? Stop Fooling Yourself

hate

* 11 Thoughts Every Runner Has After Finishing A Marathon

* Justice And Judgement: From Stonewall To Baltimore

* Furkids Adoptable Cats – (I got my boys there! Get you one!)

* Karl Barth Meets Billy Graham

* The Skit Guys: Grace – (What if I accepted this forgiveness and forgave myself as well? What if I finally let all my wrongs go? It’s not that I can’t talk theologically about grace. But believing and accepting aren’t the same thing. This video felt like a pardon.)

* Kill The Messenger: NASA Orbiter Crashes Into Mercury

* NPR: The Bus Station – (Gorgeous photojournalism!)

* Dear White Facebook Friends: I Need You To Respect What Black America Is Feeling Right Now – (Stop thinking you know what Black Lives are like if you’re not living a black life.)

* The Simple “Secret” To Making A Woman Orgasm No One Understands

* Transgender Teen Leelah Alcorn’s Death Ruled A Suicide – Mother Threw Away Handwritten Note

* Baddest Mother Ever: In Baltimore, You Hear What You Expect To Hear

* When I Ask My Mom Why I Have Trouble Meeting Decent Guys

* Local Man’s Apartment Located In Sex Desert – (Mine too! 😀 )

* Prayer Call Center Checking Facebook Posts Against Actual Prayers

* 13 Compelling Arguments For Why You Should Have A Cat In Your Home

“”””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””

Rhett Butler: You know, I’m sorry for you, Scarlett.
Scarlett Butler: Sorry for me?
Rhett Butler: Yes, because you’re throwing away happiness with both hands and reaching out for something that’ll never make you happy.

– Gone With The Wind

“I was irritated at how I felt. To sit around ‘heartbroken’ (the first word, unfortunately, that came to mind) was foolish, it was maudlin and contemptible and weak – oh boo hoo, she’s in London, she’s with someone else, go pick up some wine, fuck Carole Lombard, get over it. But the thought of her gave me such continual anguish that I could no more forget her than an aching tooth. It was involuntary, hopeless, compulsive. For years she had been the first thing I remembered when I woke up, the last thing that drifted through my mind as I went to sleep, and during the day she came to me obtrusively, obsessively, always with a painful shock…”

– Donna Tartt, The Goldfinch

“You will become way less concerned with what other people think of you when you realize how seldom they do.”

– David Foster Wallace, Infinite Jest – (Best book I’ve ever read. What a mindfuck!)

“We accept the love we think we deserve.”

– Stephen Chbosky, The Perks of Being a Wallflower

“Sometimes the Bible in the hand of one man is worse than a whisky bottle in the hand of (another)”

– Harper Lee, To Kill a Mockingbird

“When I get lonely these days, I think: So BE lonely, Liz. Learn your way around loneliness. Make a map of it. Sit with it, for once in your life. Welcome to the human experience. But never again use another person’s body or emotions as a scratching post for your own unfulfilled yearnings.”

– Elizabeth Gilbert, Eat, Pray, Love

“Without revelation and reframing, life can seem like an endless desert of danger with scratchy sand in your shoes, and yet if we remember or are reminded to pay attention, we find so many sources of hidden water, so many bits and chips and washes of color, in a weed or the gravel or a sunrise.”

– Anne Lamott, Help, Thanks, Wow

“A nun I know once told me she kept begging God to take her character defects away from her. After years of this prayer, God finally got back to her: I’m not going to take anything away from you, you have to give it to Me.”

– Anne Lamott, Help, Thanks, Wow

“”””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””””

 

Leave a comment